Thursday, August 23

SU Ag Center Discusses National 1890 Land Grant Universities’ MOU with EPA

L-r: Johnson, Eubanks, Coleman, Williams, Beauchamp,
Brown,  and Thilstead
Baton Rouge, La - The Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center recently hosted U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 6 representatives. The team included Samuel Coleman-Acting Regional Administrator for Region 6, Dr. Eugene Thilstead, Senior Policy Advisor for Agriculture, and Jane Acevedo Beauchamp, Regional, MOU Coordinator/Management Analyst.  The purpose of the visit was to discuss the National 1890 Land Grant Universities Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and the priorities set forth in the agreement. The implementation of the activities contemplated by the MOU will help to advance USDA-NIFA and EPA partnerships with the Minority Academic Institution Program, which ultimately will result in increased collaborations among the 1890 Land-Grant Universities and capacity building to form a cooperative working relationship in areas of mutual interest, promote equal opportunity in higher education, provide technical assistance in the form of teaching, research, outreach, extension and public service; and encourage the participation of students, staff, and faculty in USDA and EPA programs and workforce diversity.

The representatives toured the Southern University Ag Center, including laboratories in Urban Forestry, Animal Science, and Food Science.  SU Ag Center officials meeting with EPA’s representatives were Chancellor Leodrey Williams, Vice Chancellor for Research Adell Brown, Vice Chancellor for Extension Gina Eubanks, and Professor of Urban Forestry Andra Johnson. 
The MOU was signed June 29, 2012 by USDA Secretary Thomas Vilsack, US EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson, and Gilbert Rochon for Council of 1890 Universities.

The Morrill Act of 1890 established Black land-grant universities, 28 years after passage of the first Morrill Act laid the foundation for the nation’s public university system. The 18 historically black land-grant institutions are located in 17 states. The list includes: Alabama A&M University; Alcorn State University; Delaware State University; Florida A&M University; Fort Valley State University; Kentucky State University; Langston University; Lincoln University; North Carolina A&T State University; Prairie View A&M University; South Carolina State University; Southern University System; Tennessee State University; Tuskegee University; University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff; University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Virginia State University; and West Virginia State University.

# # #
Bridget Udoh
(225) 771-5714

No comments: